Who We Are
A working grist mill from 1874
Discover this three-storey mill tucked away in a wooded gorge on Matheson’s Brook. See grains being ground, sifted and turned into flour just as they have been since Alexander McKay opened this mill in 1874.
Bring a picnic and linger in this shady and peaceful place. Hear the mill stream splashing as water tumbles over the dam. Ramble along the Christine MacDonald Walking Trail as it winds along the brook.
Due to unforeseen circumstances we have no flour available, but mill demonstrations are available without actual grinding by interpretive staff on a daily basis.
Balmoral Grist Mill
660 Matheson Brook Rd
Phone 902 657 3016